News and Events

Latest News

  • Spring 2015: Following successful small animal trials of BNCT as published in 2013, large animal trials are underway, using compounds developed and produced at I2NM2.
  • Congratulations to I2NM2 director M. Frederick Hawthorne, who was named by President Barack Obama as a recipient of the 2011 National Medal of Science, the highest honor bestowed by the country to scientists.
    • In the 21 December 2012 White House press release President Obama said, “I am proud to honor these inspiring American innovators.  They represent the ingenuity and imagination that has long made this nation great.”
    • Professor Hawthorne received his award in Washington DC early in 2013.

    Fred Hawthorne with President Obama
  • M. Frederick Hawthorne was presented the 2012 Pioneer Award by Boron in the Americas (BORAM) at their conference at Purdue, in recognition of his ground-breaking research in boron chemistry (June 6, 2012)
  • Former editor Fred Hawthorne honored at 50th Anniversary of Inorganic Chemistry (August 30, 2011)
  • Fred Hawthorne presents the inaugural lecture for UCLA's annual M. Frederick Hawthorne Lecture (May 2011)
  • Fred Hawthorne honored as Curators' Distinguished Professor (September 2010)
  • Fred Hawthorne wins Madison Marshall Award (March 1, 2010)
  • MU celebrates Fred Hawthorne and Presidential Award recipients (August 25, 2009)
  • Hawthorne named Priestley Medalist by American Chemical Society (March 24, 2009)
  • A Celebration of Nano and Molecular Medicine (October 20, 2008)
    An international group of Nobel, National Academy and Royal Society speakers came to the University of Missouri to participate in A Celebration of Nano and Molecular Medicine, a symposium held to dedicate the International Institute of Nano and Molecular Medicine (I2NM2) research facility and its accompanying thermal neutron beam at the MU Research Reactor (MURR). Held Oct. 20-22, 2008, the symposium celebrated nano and molecular medicine as a global endeavor involving a new interface of chemistry, biology, nanoscience and translational medicine.